Sid the Science Kid

Updated to add: Thanks to the random number generator at Random.org, Jess won the Sid the Science Kid DVDs! Thanks for playing, and come back to win the Zula Patrol or Dive Olly Dive DVDs coming up!

As the dog days of summer remind us that summer will soon end and we’ll have to send the kids back to school, now might be a good time to introduce your kid to another kid who LOVES preschool — Sid the Science Kid! I don’t often recommend TV shows (since we don’t watch much), but this one I’d recommend any day of the week. Sid is a curious little 4 year old boy who plays and asks questions, just like any kid, and his curiosity is nurtured by his parents, teacher, and grandma — all of the major forces in his life. His friends know that he’s a curious kid, and he’s always good for an adventure.

Each episode starts with Sid playing before breakfast, having fun, and asking his parents a question spurred by his morning play. His mom and dad help him find the answer, ask him questions, and/or tell him to “Ask Teacher Susie” when he gets to preschool. A few minutes later, they’re in the car, happily on their way to preschool, singing a song that I admit I’ve found myself singing too:

I love my mom; my mom is cool
But now it’s time for having fun in school

And so it is. Sid meets up with his friends, asks them questions about the “Big Idea” of the day, plays on the playground, and then goes inside when Teacher Susie starts the day. They have rug time (known as circle time in our area), dance time, and time to investigate the Big Idea in the SuperFabLab. (Hmmm. I may have watched too much Sid on our vacation last weekend.) They have big adventures, and then when preschool’s over, Grandma comes to pick Sid up and care for him in the afternoon. Grandma is a great caregiver too, always attentive and involved, and loving most of all.

Sid the Science Kid is a great show, and one I’d let my kids watch any day.

Any day that we watch TV, that is.

Want to win a copy of Sid’s latest DVD? Leave a comment here by Friday, August 28, and I’ll pick a winner (randomly, out of a hat) to receive Sid’s latest DVD, and the new Dive Olly Dive dvd to boot! Both my copy and the copy to give away were furnished by PBS. Thank you, PBS!

parents_welcome_title2

29 responses to this post.

  1. […] burned to a crisp.  We made do with lunch at Chick-Fil-A (another playground!) and an episode of Sid the Science Kid after dinner.  But another day we will go back to the Dairy MOOseum, and mini golf, and the splash […]

    Reply

  2. Ooh, that looks fun!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kate on August 20, 2009 at 6:12 am

    I can’t tell you how many times my 2.5 year old and I have found ourselves singing “On Penguin Pond” Thank you for having the contest. Also-my son loves the Adventure Playground near the Sprayground. They have a pirate ship and a castle and all kinds of other fun.

    Reply

  4. My 6-year old son loves science, and I hope he follows in his Grandpa Bob’s footsteps and becomes a scientist. Or maybe my older daughter, who is 4 and who asks lots of questions, will follow that path. In any case, they would both enjoy learning about Sid the Science Kid!

    Eve

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sandra on August 20, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I love Sid the Science Kid and so do my kids. Unfortunately, the caregiver arrangements this summer have not allowed them to watch any of the shows I prefer (long story). So, we would love to win us a copy of Sid the Science Kid!

    Sandra

    Reply

    • man dude you is rite ii love sid the science too i be sitting there just ta watching it having fun n learning even thoe im in 8th grade but it still fun

      Reply

  6. […] And then we can cuddle up with a little Thomas the Tank Engine or Roary the Racing Car or Sid the Science Kid, and we don’t have to start it halfway through or miss the first part of the show.  Or stop […]

    Reply

  7. We love Sid the Science Kid! I’m always amazed after my son watches one of these and then comes to me and explains some concept like reversible change.

    Reply

  8. The educator in me gave a huge cheer when this series started on PBS. The mom in me loves that part of the song “I love my mom, my mom is cool”. Either way – the series is fabulous and we’d love to add the DVD to our collection!

    Reply

  9. My favorite thing about this show is how it makes science concepts so accessible and gives my kids an immediate burst of “let’s try this ourselves.”

    Reply

  10. Posted by CE on August 21, 2009 at 9:43 am

    whymommy –

    we don’t have a television, but we do have a DVD in our computer, and as a scientist myself, I think this would be awesome to show my kids once in awhile. Thanks for the giveaway – hope i win!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Diane on August 21, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I love Sid the Science Kid! I taught High School Chemistry before my kids were born (and will again when they’re all off to school themselves). So many “science” shows for kids have too much of the goofy and not enough of the actual science part. Sid is so great. Magic School Bus great.

    I also wish my kids could go to a school where the teacher is that awesome and only has 4 kids in her class!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Susan K on August 21, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Gotta go try and find out when this is on. We don’t have “on demand” or DVR, though I guess we could – shock horror-TAPE it….. of course that would mean reconfiguring our power strip! We bought this great one – let’s you set a prime appliance and when it goes off, associated appliances go off too – so no “stealth” power being drawn. So TV goes off and so do DVD player, VCR, and Wii (but not the cable box – which takes WAAAAAYYY too long to reset itself).

    Thanks for the hint.

    Reply

  13. Yesterday Top Gun (5 yo) said, “We can use an inclined plane.” I heart Sid!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Fran on August 22, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    My son goes to a progressive ed school that is so much like Sid’s classroom, I get a real kick out of it. He even has a clog-wearing, hip and smart teacher who takes cues from the kids and creates amazing learning experiences. All schools should be as fun and engaging as they are in Sid’s world! Awesome!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Amanda on August 22, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    We love Sid the Science Kid and would love to win this!

    Reply

  16. I also heart Sid the Science Kid. In my house, the kids get one show each day of the week and we alternate who gets to choose which day… since there are 2 kids and 7 days, I assigned myself Friday to pick the show. And I always choose Sid. It is seriously the one kids’ show that I want to sit down and watch (rather than endure unwillingly or just sneak away from).

    Reply

  17. Posted by Lisa on August 23, 2009 at 10:01 am

    My kids absolutely LOVE Sid the Science Kid! Hope I win!!!

    Reply

  18. Posted by jess on August 23, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    My daughter (3 yo) recently regaled me with her plans for making a rocket ship to take all of her favorite people to the moon. And the we will “hang on tightly” and then we will sleep in special rockets with beds. And then we will come back home to tell our friends and her big finale: “And then I will be Sid the Sciend kid!”
    Indeed she will. I’m glad so many folks like it – perhaps we’ll get to keep it a while without someone “improving” it.

    Reply

  19. […] a comment on last week’s Sid the Science Kid post to win a Sid the Science Kid DVD set for your very own! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Bob BooksImagitalesGet a […]

    Reply

  20. Harry LOVES Sid the Science Kid. And I will admit to a bit of a bias in hoping that he follows in his mother’s footsteps…

    Reply

  21. Posted by Rebecca U on August 25, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Replied on Toddler Planet but will enter here too, just in case, since my son LOVES Sid.

    Reply

  22. Me! Me! Pick me!!
    We love Sid the Science Kid here. Until my kids are old enough to watch Bill Nye, Sid will have to do!

    Reply

  23. Michael love, love, loves this show.

    Reply

  24. […] Sid the Science Kid […]

    Reply

  25. WE LOVE SID!!!! Pick me random integer generator!!!

    Reply

  26. This has been so fun. Who knew so many of us loved Sid the Science Kid?

    Hurrah!

    (And RIP, Reading Rainbow.)

    Reply

  27. Posted by Kanika on August 28, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    We love Sid the Science Kid here. It is a great show that gets kids excited to find out WHY!

    Reply

  28. […] birthday goodness tomorrow — and a rundown of our Sid the Science Kid birthday party! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Leo’s 2nd B-Day […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

